Sweet Tweets

Twitter

I got a new follower on Twitter today and, as usual, checked out their profile to see if I wanted to follow them back.  That led me to a blog post about Twitter and how effective it has been as a PLN and PD tool for @kgustin.

I’ve been meaning to write about Twitter for a while now, but there doesn’t seem to be anything left for me to say that hasn’t already been said by other Tweeters.  Twitter has brought me out of my hole and into the light, connecting me with a network of like minded educators and people that I would otherwise never have “met”.  Thank you Twitter and thank you my Tweeting Twitter friends.

If you haven’t checked out Twitter for yourself yet, I recommend you do.  Give it a little time and you won’t regret it.

Here are a few blog posts that describe the Twitter experience and the benefits of being “connected” much better than I could.
Common Sense Classroom

Durff’s Blog

Steedy’s Blog

Sharing the Addiction

3 Responses

  1. Why, thank you Michael! I am honored that you would want to link to my post.

    It’s nice to know I was not alone in my formerly misguided opinion about Twitter. I am currently reexamining my avoidance of Facebook. I don’t really intend to actively participate, but I am beginning to see the value of being able to check-up on my students who have pages of their own.

    My main concern is the safety of my students. They don’t understand the possible dangers of communicating with people they think they know, as cyberspace can feel deceptively secure. I find myself considering establishing my own account just so I can keep an eye on things, in case their parents are unable to keep a watchful eye.

    What do you think?

  2. Thank you for linking to my blog!

  3. Twitter is great and has really added a whole different element to my learning. This year on my fellowship I don’t worry about losing touch with what’s happening with ICT in schools as I know I have this group of on-to-it educators who I will keep linked in with. Thanks for being a really important part of my twitter network – your input and tweets are always appreciated! & thanks too for the link to my blog.

Leave a Reply

